Happiness

Get A New Perspective On Life ~ Colorado Series

As mentioned in my previous article Hike Your Way To Health ~ Colorado Series I am in Colorado for the week. The things I am doing and seeing here are so vastly different from anything I do back home in the flatlands of the midwest.

On Saturday, we climbed to the top of Mount Evans, 14,130 feet above sea level. We were right in the middle of the Rocky Mountains, and could see for miles and miles.

Something to notice, though, is from way up there, you can’t see houses, or roads or cars or problems or anxiety. You just see the world as one giant chunk of nature.

All I could think while I was on top of that mountain was “nothing else matters.” As in, nothing else matters but the fact that we are alive in this beautiful place. This view is the most important thing. Forget work, hardships, stress, and issues, those things seem so distant when you can’t even see civilization.

What I learned from this experience is:

1. We are part of a world much bigger and greater than ourselves, which makes us both insignificant and significant.

2. Problems can feel like mountains, and when that happens, climb them, so that you’re bigger than them.

3. We can try to control our environment, but we are at the mercy of nature, which is infinitely stronger and more powerful than we are.

4. The world will go on with or without us.

5. We need to help each other climb our personal mountains, because if one person falls, we all are affected.

6. There is always beauty. Whether we open our eyes to it or not, it always exists (as shown in the pictures below)

IMG_4803.jpgIMG_4839.JPGIMG_4834.jpgIMG_4851.JPGIMG_4828.jpgIMG_4840.jpg

That list of things I thought about from the top of the mountain can sound strange–like how can it be a positive thing that the world will go on with or without us? But I think that it’s reassuring to know that the world won’t end–that everything won’t go crumbling down based on our issues and problems. The mountains will always reign tall, and the forces of nature will stay constant.

It is up to us to appreciate the beauty of everything.

∴♥∴

23 thoughts on “Get A New Perspective On Life ~ Colorado Series”

  1. Great entry and beautiful pictures! I need to take advantage of the fact I have friends that live all over the United States, even in or near the Colorado area.

    The explanation to be so far up, so far that no cars, houses, stress, anxiety, or many other things could be viewed except for the endless life of nature, was so calming and peaceful.

    The banner pic for my blog is a picture I took, believe it or not, in the state of Ohio. Small, unknown area my friends and I ventured to one day. The memory of the view almost always puts me in a happy place for all of the reasons you described.

    Your entry today reminds me of my short entry for today https://awonderfulhealthylife.wordpress.com/2017/07/03/moments-dads-birthday/

    Focuses on taking advantage of small moments. Whether the moment exists for a good idea or just exists as a reminder take life in and enjoy the time that surrounds the moment, to pay attention to moments can add a lot to a day, month, week, or life.

    Have a great time in Colorado Monte and thanks for the beautiful pictures, and as always, your thoughts!

    Ian Michael Etzwiler 🙂
    awonderfulhealthylife.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What a thoughtful comment! Wow that picture was taken in Ohio? Seems too beautiful to be true! But beauty is everywhere. I’m glad my post resonated with you, and I checked out the post about your dad! Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

