Health, Travel

Hike Your Way To Health ~ Colorado Series

I flew out to Colorado this week to visit family, and we all went on a gorgeous 3-mile hike. The weather was perfect at sunny and 65 degrees and the views were incredible–a nice change of pace from the Indiana flatland.

Hiking is an amazing way to get fit and healthy–

According to WebMD, hiking is known to:

  • Lower your risk of heart disease
  • Improve your blood pressure and blood sugar levels
  • Boost bone density, since walking is a weight-bearing exercise
  • Build strength in your glutes, quadriceps, hamstrings, and the muscles in your hips and lower legs
  • Strengthen your core
  • Improve balance
  • Help control your weight
  • Boost your mood. “Research shows that hiking has a positive impact on combating the symptoms of stress and anxiety,” says Gregory A. Miller, PhD, president of the American Hiking Society. “Being in nature is ingrained in our DNA, and we sometimes forget that.”

I’d like to personally add that this was a great way to get Vitamin D from the sun (though I could have used a little sunscreen, oops!), a wonderful way to connect with nature, it was relaxing and stress relieving, and was a really fun way to workout without feeling like I was working out. I toned my muscles and increased my heart rate all while surrounded by beauty and family.

IMG_4665.jpgIMG_4672.jpgIMG_4678.jpgIMG_4686.jpgIMG_4725.jpg

Had so much fun. Wish the Midwest had a landscape like this, physical activity would come so much more easily with this kind of motivation. Love love love.

Thanks for reading! 🙂

∴♥∴

36 thoughts on “Hike Your Way To Health ~ Colorado Series”

  1. Goodness, those views are absolutely breathtaking! Wishing I was there! 🙂 I’m in Indiana, too, so I definitely know what you mean…If we had landscapes like that, I’d always be outside! It’s so funny though, I was literally just telling my bf that I wish we lived somewhere like that… for multiple reasons, but mainly the beautiful outdoors and the hiking! I’ve always wanted to try hiking! Why, if I could hike readily whenever I wanted, I’d be in such great shape!

    Thanks so much for sharing your experiences and your photos 🙂 Have a great rest of your trip! xo

    -Helene ❤
    https://angelspartaness.com/

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I totally agree, and let’s do it! The beach (or the mountains) awaits!~ heehee if only! That’d be something…

        Like

Leave a Reply

