Health

Healthy Apple Cinnamon Oats

Oatmeal can be one of the healthiest breakfasts out there, but only if you do it RIGHT.

Oats are a healthy grain. They are high in fiber, which can reduce bad cholesterol and help you stay full longer. They also enhance the body’s immune response and stabilize blood sugar; plus, they’re gluten free.

However, instant oatmeal (in the packets) often has loads of added sugar and salt and artificial coloring, and can bump up your blood sugar. (One Green Planet)

Stick with rolled oats or steel cut oats, and make a quick, delicious, filling breakfast!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 cup water
  • Apple
  • 2 tbsp peanut butter (natural)
  • Agave and Cinnamon to taste

Note: Agave Sweetener is not necessary if using regular peanut butter, because that has added sugar, but as natural peanut butter is unsweetened, I’m adding a touch of agave sweetener. Agave can be substituted for syrup or honey.

IMG_3087.jpg

Boil 1 cup water, add 1/2 cup oats, mix for 5 minutes

IMG_3088.jpg

Cut apple, add to oats

IMG_3089.jpg

Add 2 tbsp natural peanut butter

IMG_3090.jpg

Add agave and cinnamon to taste

IMG_3094.jpg

So tasty and healthy, and a filling breakfast to help jump start your metabolism and give you energy for the day ahead.

∴♥∴

37 thoughts on “Healthy Apple Cinnamon Oats”

  1. Really nice recipe, Monte 🙂 I looove oats! One of my favorite breakfasts! I always do plain oats, and now I’m trying old fashioned oats, by itself and in baking recipes. For breakfast, I love peanut butter in oats, and apples are good too, although my favorite fruits to use are blueberries and diced plums! 🙂 So delicious. I also love using agave. It’s my favorite sweetener because it isn’t too sweet, and of course, it’s healthy. So agave is an easy healthy substitution for me to make 🙂

    -Helene, xo
    https://angelspartaness.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Forget the oats, I’ll just take the PB (: Haha nah, but I am always looking for new ways to spice up my oatmeal. It is a favorite breakfast and or snack to fill up with. I really want to make a slow cooker oatmeal recipe with apples!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha, I totally agree! It it so much better now that I have gone to all natural peanut butter. Took me a while to get used to the texture and lack of sugar, but now I love it and don’t feel as guilty about the 4 spoonfuls 😁

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It’s gotten so cheap to grind my own peanuts at my local grocery store so that’s what I do now, and I agree it took some time to get used to but now I prefer the natural to the processed 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

